Infolinks In Text Ads

Volcano Trivia

Friday, January 9, 2009

The Philippines is home to some 200 volcanoes, 22 of which are active and have erupted during the last 600 years, the Philippines Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Philvocs) said.

Mayon, known to have the world's most perfect cone had at least 44 violent eruptions from 1616 to 1993. Its most destructive eruption was on February 1, 1814, when 1,200 persons were killes and six towns were totally destroyed.

Bulusan had 17 eruptions from 1852 to 1988. It erupted 52 times in 1980 but the damage was small.

Mayon and Bulusan have been acting yp and Philvocs has warned residents living withing the area to evacuate in the wake of an imminent eruption.

Taal had erupted 33 times from 1571 to 1994. In 1911 Taal spewed ash which reaches as fas as Manila.

Mt. Banahaw, the tallest volcano in Southern Tagalog erupted in 1730 and 1743. During these eruptions, boulders as big as houses reached as fas as the cities of Lucena and San Pablo.

Other active volcanoes are Didicas and Smith in Babuyan Islands; Canlaon in Negros Oriental; Ragang in Cotabato; Hibok-hibok in Mambajao, Camiguin Island, Pinatubo in Zambales and Banahaw in Quezon.


Post a Comment

  © Blogger template Brownium by 2009

Back to TOP